Book News, Book Talk

BookCon Part 2

Hey guys sorry about the delay again, things have been a little crazy and there were just some things that I needed to get done before I could edit and upload this post, but I’m here now so lets get into the second and final part of my Book Con adventure.

So at BookCon there was only one author I really wanted to get an autograph signature from and that was Sarah J. Maas, author of one of my favorite series The Court of Thorns and Roses. However, I was unable to get a ticket for the Autographing session with her, I was a little disappointed, but I just looked at it from the perspective that it just left more time for my boyfriend and I to checkout the panels and the Showroom Floor, which we did. We ended up going to two really great panels. The first one was Write Here, Write Now where four authors talked to us about their writing processes, how what is going on in the world can end up influencing certain aspects of your storytelling, etc. It was really enlightening and I actually ended up taking a few notes for my own writing process.

The other panel was centered around cult films of science fiction and fantasy. It was so much fun because we watched three clips of three different very cult movies and played bingo to go along with all the stereotypical things that usually go on in those kind of movies. And then, the authors at the panel discussed stereotypes they both love and hate that occur in writing. Ex. The Chosen One, a magical item, etc.

At the end, of this panel they ended up giving away about four to five books–I got them all. So just to give a list because most of these are books I know nothing about, but some are ones that I’ve wanted to read for a while and some are ARCs that I will more than likely be reviewing for next month’s TBR. The first one is The Immortals by Jordana Max Brodsky. Then I got Labyrinth Lost by and The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst. Finally, I got ARCs for Bonfire by Kristen Ritter, The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty, and Zenith by Sasha Alsberg ad Lindsey Cummings. So excited to read all of these and let you guys know my thoughts on them. 

Thank you for reading my Part 2 of my journey at BookCon. Please like, comment, and follow me if you wish to see more of my content. Thank you and hope you are all having a safe day or night wherever you are. 

Leave a Reply

