Book Hauls, Book News, Book Talk, Uncategorized

Back from BookCon Part 1

Hey guys sorry about the delay. Still feeling a little lagged from my trip to BookCon in New York, but I’m so happy that I’m finally getting to tell you guys about my experiences at BookCon 2017.

So BookCon was amazing just to start off. For anyone going to BookCon I highly recommend downloading the BookCon app it was really helpful when organizing our day, in terms of when and where panels were. My boyfriend and I mainly spend our time on the Showroom floor where we saw and got a lot of books and merchandise from venders. So the first book I got when I walked in was Note to Self by Connor Franta by Keywords Press. It was such a beautiful book of poetry that is also signed by the author, I was instantly drawn to it. It wasn’t free, but as I was about to pay for it the woman at the booth said, “You know what, it’s the last day of BookCon you can have it for free.” I was blown away and thanked her, it was just such a great start to our day.

Next we stopped by the independent or indie publishers area where I got a free, signed copy of Jim Grieco’s Ephaidra. I know nothing about it at this point, but I do plan on doing a review for most, if not all the ARCs and books I got at BookCon. He had the  concept art for the characters in his book on display which is what really drew me to his booth because I don’t really read science fiction that much, but I really want to start reading more of it and what better place to start than getting a book that’s both free and it helping an independent author? Next I got an ARC to Rosie Thomas’ If My Father Loved Me.

Next stopped by this booth where they had all things Harry Potter, Game of Thrones, DC Comics, and all other things geek-like. I loved it, but I was very good and just got a Wonder Woman coloring book which I have already started.

Now on to the books that I bought, which I have to say I’m also really excited about. We went to the SOHO publishing booth and they were having a 3 for $25 paperbacks and I think it was 3 for $30/35 for hardbacks. I ended up getting three varying paperbacks that I can’t wait to start.

The first book is called Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell. Essentially, it is about a man that has the ability to time travel, but always ends up going back to the same moment in time even though he can’t seem to remember why that moment is important to him and meets the same people every time except for when he meets this one woman that sets him on a path that means life or death. It kind of sounds like The Time Travelers Wife with a crime-thriller twist. So I’m really excited. Next I got Liv, Forever by Amy Talkington. This book is published by SOHO Teen. It is about a girl who meets a boy and they form a brief connection, unfortunately thereafter she dies, but he is the only person that can see her and both are pulled into an otherworldly adventure. Finally, the last book was recommended to be by those at the booth while I was deciding what my third book was going to be. The concept for it looked interesting and so I thought I’d give it a try and it’s called That’s not a Feeling by Dan Josefson. They said that this book has a lot of humor and it all takes place at this hospital/school for teens with that have been put here by their parents for one reason or another. One of the venders described this book as kind of a teen/young adult version of the movie One Floor from the Cuckoo’s Nest. I’m really excited to read all of these books which I will probably do in my next TBR, no promises.

So thank you so much for checking this first part of my trip to BookCon out. Part 2 will most likely also be out today.

 

3 thoughts on “Back from BookCon Part 1”

Leave a Reply

