Book Wrap-Up

March 2017 Wrap-Up

So March is gone, but what comes with that is another wrap-up for the books I finished this month. I had planned on only reading four books this month because one of them was Diana Gabaldon’s Voyager which was a lengthy, worthwhile read. I also had Made You Up by Francesca Zappia and Get Well Soon by Julie Halpern; two books that deal with mental illness. And finally, Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor. Now these are all the books I had planned on reading, but there not all the books I read.

Now to get a head start I started Voyager probably the last week of February and had gotten at least the first 100-200ish pages read by the time March had come around. I was really excited for all of these books because I was just in the mood to read about Scotland and what is the best series about Scotland I know that also deals with time-travel: the Outlander series. Now Into the Dim is also a time-traveling book I have had on my list for a while so I thought, why not? However, I know myself well enough that I couldn’t read these two books at the same time because they are just too similar in content. I can read two books at a time, but not if they have a similar plot and/or setting. So while I was reading Voyager I checked out Made You Up and Get Well Soon, but these two unfortunately I would have to say were major disappointments for me. I didn’t connect to either of the main characters in these books and they just didn’t do anything for me. So I quickly dropped them getting 50% through these books and still feeling this way and decided to pick up Erin Watts’s The Royals series.

I have already written a series review on these books if anyone wishes to check that out, but nevertheless I have to say that I’m so happy I read this series, but I would not recommend it for anyone under the age of 17 just because there are mature situations involved in these books.

Finally, I finished Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this book and I can’t wait to pick up the second book in this series when it comes out. The way that it was described to me was as the YA version of Outlander and consider Gabaldon herself has praised this book I would have to agree. Though it takes more of a science fiction approach to the time travel aspect of it all, but then again people may describe Outlander as that as well. Either way I think if you are fans of the Outlander series or just fans of stories about time-travel in general I think this is a book you should check out. If there are any books on this wrap-up anyone would like me to go into more detail about through a review please let me know in the comments below. Also, let me know if any of you have read these books yourself, what did you think about them? And also let me know what books you read this month? Did any disappoint you or did they live up to or even exceed your expectations?

Thank you so much for checking out my wrap-up for the month of March. My April TBR should be up by tonight. Hope you are all having a safe day or night wherever you are. If you liked this post leave a Like, feel free to leave a comment below, and as always if you wish to see more of my content feel free to follow me.

 

Leave a Reply

