Book Reviews, Book Talk

Series Review: The Royals Series by Erin Watt

Hi everyone, so we’re on the brink of April, man this year just flew by. I can’t wait to give you all my TBR for April I have so many books planned that I have been wanting to read. However, before I do that or my wrap-up for the month of March I wanted to do something that I’ve never done before, but I hope to do again sometime. Today I want to share with you a series that I have been obsessed with the last month and actually added to my short TBR for the month. I was kind of disappointed by a couple of the books I had in my TBR this month; I might talk more about that in my wrap-up, but in the mean time I needed a good read to make up for them so I decided to finally pick up Erin Watt’s The Royals trilogy. Now I had heard absolutely nothing about these books I imagine because this is actually a self-published series, that is until one of my favorite BookTubers was talking about them in her book haul. Anyway she recommended that if you were to get this series get the two books together because there is a huge cliffhanger at the end of book one.

So the series consists of three books:

Paper Princess

paper-princess

Broken Prince

The-Royals-Broken-Prince-Erin-Watt-Elle-Kennedy-Jen-Frederick

Twisted Palace

theroyals

The story surrounds Ella Harper, a seven-teen year old girl struggling to make ends meat and trying to keep her grades up in school while still reeling from the death of her mother. One day she gets a unique encounter with a man named Callum Royal, claiming to be her legal guardian and friends with her absent father. Once Callum sees the state Ella’s life has become he takes her away to his home where she is introduced to not only a life she only ever heard about happening in dime-store novels, but his five sons as well. Ella agrees to stay under certain conditions, but each Royal is more different than the next and they don’t exactly welcome Ella with open arms like Callum does. However, the one Royal that Ella can’t stand more than any of them is Reed Royal, he is also the one she wants more than anything.

To me this series was so easy to get through. The pacing throughout the story was very well done, but I thought there could have been a more or less description in certain places. Overall, I couldn’t stop myself each time from turning the pages to see what was going to happen next. One of the reviews on the books call this series this generations Cruel Intentions and I completely agree, but Cruel Intentions meets Cinderella works too. Each character is so unique in there own way and you really get invested in not just the romance, but all the drama that comes with families as well. I would love to see this turned in to a TV show maybe on Freeform if they were to tone down certain moments of the books or even a series on Netflix. I would caution any readers out there that I give this a strong mature rating perhaps ages 17 and up. Despite this being classified I guess as young adult I would almost go as far to say that it’s got a New Adult feel to it. Overall, I would give this series as a whole 5 out of 5 stars.

Thank you all for checking out my series review for Erin Watt’s The Royals series. If you liked this review leave a Like. If you have ever read this series or want to read this series or more just leave a comment below. And if you wish to see more of my content please follow me. Thank you and hope you are all having a safe day or night wherever you are.

 

Leave a Reply

