Book Hauls, Book Talk

Mini March Book Haul

Hey everyone, it feels like a long time since I last posted anything and I’m sorry about that everything has just been a little crazy, but what else is new, right? So I have been really good about not buying a lot of books or I should say any new books, and I will get back to that in a second. The truth is my room is currently overloaded with books and I thought that issue was going to be resolved with the complete of the new bookshelf I got this past Christmas, but once I opened the box to finally put it together it turns out the bookcase had a huge crack along the side and I’m currently in the process of dealing with the dreaded return of that and getting a new one. What are you gonna do, right?

So I had for the past two months-ish put myself on a book-buying-ban. We all know and love those, am I right? Well so far I have been really good actually even though I got a couple of gift cards I could have bought a couple of new books with. So far I used all my will power to not do that until recently…To be fair I did not buy a lot of new books and I got them during some really good sales.

Back to what I was saying about not buying a lot of new books, I’ve slowly been going through my shelves and sorting books that I’m either never going to read, that I read and REALLY didn’t like, or that I have been able to find replacements for so all my books match.

So the first book I got was the hardcover edition of Cinder, the first book in Marissa Marr’s Lunar Chronicles series. I just picked this book up in paperback because honestly it was cheaper and I think there might have been a sale going on for paperbacks at the time so it just worked out because I didn’t know if I was going to like the series or not, but I did and I got the rest of the series in hardcover except for Fairest which I think was a mistake that was sent to me in an order, but I will probably try to find that in hardcover as well.

1200x630bb 18170149

Next I got The Beauty and the Beast by Gabrielle-Suzanna Barbot De Villeneuve. Now you guys cannot blame me with all the advertisements over the new movie I had to get my own copy of the beloved story. The cover for this book is so pretty and it even has interactive things on the inside that go along with the story. I also got in a sale with this Wolf Children by Mamoru Hosoda, who is responsible for the original story, the art done by Yu, and the character design by Yoshiyuki Sadamoto. I’ve mentioned that I love anime and manga. This movie made me cry so much and from what I hear it’s going to be so much worse/better with the actual manga.

9780465096787_l

I’m also a fan of history and so I finally got my hands on Game of Queens: The Women who made Sixteenth-Century Europe by Sarah Gristwood. I would say that this is one of my favorite time periods to read about and to read about women who knew how to use the power to advance themselves during this time sounds like a amazing read.

Next are the fourth and fifth installment in what is probably my favorite adult series, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I received Drums of Autumn and The Fiery Cross. I don’t know whether it was because I enjoyed Voyager so much or for in anticipation for the series returning in September. Either way I’m really glad that I have these in my collection.

theroyals

Finally, I got the third and final installment in Erin Watts’ Royals series, The Twisted Palace. I have been so addicted to this series since I saw it in a book haul on BookTube.

I’m hoping to just stick with getting replacements, but with Spring coming soon a lot of libraries and Half-Priced Books tend to have some really good sales coming up so I don’t want to go too crazy without unhauling more books. I will most likely be putting out an unhauling post soon. We’ll see. So thank you all for checking out what I got in my mini book haul. Let me know if there are any books you guys have recently gotten that you’re really excited about. Thank you wherever you are and hope you are having a safe day or night.

Leave a Reply

