Book Reviews

Of Fire and Stars By Audrey Coulthurst

Image result for of fire and stars audrey coulthurst

Title: Of Fire and Stars

Author: Audrey Coulthurst

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Review: So when I first heard that this book was coming out I was very intrigued not only because it seemed like a story right up my alley, but because I honestly had never read a book with a same sex couple in it. Now, I don’t want to make this review all about the fact this is YA book with two girls as the main romance couple, but I would be remiss if I didn’t talk about it to some degree. So first off I thought that it was a interesting how they set up the story and how the two female leads had such a juxtaposition between them. Mare is a girl that has almost all the freedom someone in Denna’s position could want, but she is still basically kept under lock and key by her family and ridiculed as a result. Denna on the other hand has felt the complete opposite given her position and unpredictability of her powers.

Now this book is told from the perspectives of both of these girls and I appreciate how the author right off gave each of the girls their own voice because even thought I didn’t know that it was written that way going in I’m still hesitant going into a book that flips from different perspectives because the big road block authors tend to run into and what I’ve read most of the time is they end up with characters that are written in the same “voice” and you can’t initially tell from who’s perspective the story is being told. However, that didn’t happen in this case. I enjoyed learning about the lore of this world, however, I did wish that the author had chosen to spread more context about that throughout the story. Hopefully, it will be more of a center of the story in the next book, but it sort of felt in certain parts that the main point of this story was the romance aspect which I didn’t mind because there is other stuff that is going on, there wasn’t that much world-building I felt except just the basics.

While I did have an issue with that I did think that there was a least a good amount of character development on the two main characters, as well as the side characters even though I wish the author had gone just a little deeper. Overall, I did enjoy this book. I think that it was a memorable YA fantasy read on it’s own as well as having a LGBT aspect to it which is not some I think is very mainstream, but something I’m glad I read for the first time. I give this book 3 1/2 out of 5 stars.

Thank you all for reading my review on Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst. Let me know if you have read this book or are thinking about picking it up. Have any of you read other LGBT books that you enjoyed or you think that I would enjoy reading? Please remember to leave a Like, a comment, and follow my blog for more content. Hope you all are having a safe day or night wherever you are.

 

Leave a Reply

