Book Talk

Top 5 Favorite Fictional Couples of ’17

Hey Everyone,

I thought in the spirit of the most romantic day of the year I thought I would give you guys a little look into whom I consider my favorite couples in fiction of 2017. Now this list is not only going to include couples from standard novels, but also from manga, as I am also a huge fan of manga and graphic novels and plan on doing related post with them as well.

Now the first couple is from a series I hope most of you guys know which is:

5. Khalid and Shahzad from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

When I heard the plot for this book I was taken immediately and as I read the characters seemed even more rich and adventurous as the landscape the author had set them in. I was very intrigued by this story, but more specifically this couple because they each have their own agendas involving each other, but of course given the circumstances of each others plans for the other they can’t exactly reveal their true natures to one another, but also don’t feel like they feel the need to be anything but themselves.

4. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes- Lousia and Will

This book was such a refreshing read for me. I heard nothing, but amazing things about it all over BookTube and of course I wanted to read this before I saw the movie version. This made me a instant fan of Jojo Moyes’ clever and heartbreaking writing style. The relationship between these two very different people is so inspiring and heart-warmer. All the time you are seeing each other perspective on the circumstances in which they are in and how they come to enjoy and value one another in their lives. I won’t go into too much detail because it may get spoilery, but I think their relationship really shows how love, not just romantic love, but just having someone that lets you experience what real love is can make you a better person.

3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer- Kai and Cinder

These two. There is quite a story between these two; one that last four books in fact. You really develop a connection to these two as they are getting to know each other, but circumstances occur to where they can’t be together for a certain amount of time and a lot of issues come out such as having to do with choosing between duty and doing what is right.

2. Kamisama Kiss by Julietta Suzuki- Tomoe and Nanami

These two are very near and dear to my heart. They have a story that spans 25 volumes of manga. To give a short synopsis, Nanami is abandoned by her father due to his failed business ventures. She meets a stranger who gives her a special gift: allows her stay at his home which turns out to be a shrine.There, lives very kind spirits who are all happy to meet Nanami because the stranger has given her another gift: he made her the new Land God. However,  the previous God’s familiar Tomoe, a fox Yokai who has a distain for all humans, is not happy to see Nanami. Despite their dislike for each other, the two realize they need one another in order to grow Nanami’s God powers while combating those that would take them for themselves. I have loved the journey between these two and how they have evolved as characters because of one another. I can’t wait to see the stunning conclusion to their story as soon as I can. I highly recommend this series even if you’ve never read manga before.

1.Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon- Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser.

Finally, we have come to my favorite couple of 2017. From her amazing Outlander series, Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser. These two are put to the test like not many couples have been before. Through a series of fantastical Claire travels back in time at the end of one war only to end up in the middle of another 200 years in the past. These two grow closer through their shared experiences and trials to form a very unlikely bond that is tested through time itself.

Leave a Reply

