Book Hauls

First Book Outlet Haul of 2017

Hey guys, I did not expect to actually get this order this early, but I did so I thought I should post it as soon as possible. Ready? Here we go…

So this was a small unplanned order with books I’m really excited about reading hopefully fairly soon.

The first book I have is The Distance From Me To You by Marina Gessner. This is a story about McKenna choosing to embark on a trip hiking the Appalachian Trial, much to her parents dismay. The plan is all set until her friend backs out, but that doesn’t stop McKenna from wanting to do something for herself for probably the first time in her life. Sam’s reasoning isn’t so bright and shiny as he chooses the trail over having to spend one more minute with his abusive dad. The two meet and fall for each other, but how will their  lives stay on the same path once the trip is over?

I’ve never been much for the Contemporary genre, but I’ve decided to test it out in a number of the books I have in this haul, but mostly ones that kind of reflect where I am now in my life.

Next book is called A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry. I honestly had never heard of this book or what it was about until, but I knew once I saw the cover I was instantly pulled in and once I read what it was about I didn’t want to let go. This tells the story of a girl cursed, by what or whom, no one knows, but they say she has green skin and grass for hair. Is she real? That is was Lucas hopes especially when he begins to receive letters from the supposed cursed girl. This is a story that is supposed to be filled with magical realism and what happens when legends and reality collide.

I can’t wait to read this book, not only because I don’t believe I’ve ever read anything described as “magical realism,” but I’m really excited about reading a book set around another culture as well.

The next book I have is Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. Now this is also a fairly recently released title. I was interested in this book when it was first released, but there were a lot of books on my TBR that I want to read before this. Lucky for me though it ended up on Book Outlet and I thought I’d give it a try. This a contemporary about a girl with a rare disease/condition; she is essentially allergic to the outside world and her only real sources for social interaction are her mom and her nurse. Until, a boy that has recently moved in next door catches her eye and suddenly facing the world doesn’t seem so scary compared to falling in love for the first time.

The last fiction book I got in this haul is Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler. This is a modern-day retelling of Shakespeare’s comedy, Taming of the Shrew, told through the eyes of Kate a preschool teacher who has returned to her home town after finishing college struggling to make a life for herself while continuing to have to also take care of her eccentric father and sister. Now, her father’s assistant is facing going back to his home country, but Kate’s father comes up with an insane plan that somehow involves Kate. I can’t wait to read this retelling of one of my favorite comedies by Shakespeare.

Now this is something that is rare for me, but I came across the book, Nerds: How Dorks, Dweebs, Techies, and Trekkies Can Save America by David Anderegg, Ph.D. I don’t get many non-fiction books, but this one interested me. This is a book about how labels such as “nerds,” “dorks,” and etc have lead to society looking down on people interested in mathematics, science, or anything one might consider weird or nerdy. In this book, the author talks about the positive points about having these so called “nerds” in our life and how they are the ones that are going to be a huge part of shaping our future. As for me, I am a huge nerd or dork or whatever one might call for old movies to anime, and of course books. So I thought this was a different kind of book that I really wanted to take a look at and I may share some of my thoughts on what the author has to say once I do.

That’s it for this Book Outlet haul. Let me know some books that you guys recently received, whether they were from Book Outlet or not. As always if you enjoyed this post please feel free to follow my blog as well as like, comment, and share. Thank you and keep reading.

 

Leave a Reply

