Book Reviews

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan Spoiler Free Review

Image result for the lightning thief

Title: The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & The Olympians #1)

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher(s):Miramax Books, Puffin Books, Disney Hyperion

So this tells the story of Percy Jackson who has it rough as a 12 year-old kid as he has to constantly put up with being bullied, dealing with his loser of a step-father, and his dyslexia and ADHD. One day he finds out, as he is being chased by creatures that should only exist in Greek mythology, that he is in fact the son of one of the Greek Gods. Not only that, but there is a camp where other children of these gods live and learn to fight because of the dangers that await them out in the human world. While Camp Half-Blood makes Percy feel normal for the first time in his life he can’t help tragedy hits young Percy and he is also being pursued by Zeus, King of the Olympians, after being accused of stealing his Lightning Bolt. Percy must team up with his newfound friends and teammates in order to save himself and all those that he loves.

First, I want to say that I really enjoyed this book and I hope to continue with the series in the future. I thought Riordan did a really excellent job with the rules and thought when coming up with this world. I also loved the mythology element to it because I myself am a huge fan of mythology; particularly Greek mythology. However there some parts of the book I did have a little trouble getting into. Maybe it’s just me because I do remember reading and enjoying this series when I was in school, but I didn’t really identify with the characters the same way as I did back then. It could be that just my taste in books have change since then because I know for a fact that people in there 20s still enjoy this series and Riordan’s current works still to this day.

I understand that these characters are tweens or young teenagers, but they just seem very–I’m not sure what the word is to describe them, but I just didn’t form any kind of real emotional connection with these characters. I will say that I enjoyed re-reading this book and I hope to continue reading this series. Overall, I give this book three out of five stars. Please like, comment, and share this blog. Please look for more content and keep reading!

Leave a Reply

